The Divergent Series

by Veronica Roth (Author)

Book Cover for the Divergent Series
5.00 5.00 (1 reviews)
"What's your name?" "Um..." I don't know why I hesitate. But "Beatrice" just doesn't sound right anymore. A new place, a new name. I can be remade here. "Tris," I say firmly.

In a future Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group. Beatrice must make a decision, however, between staying with her family and being who she really is – she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

As Beatrice reinvents herself and struggles to fit in with her highly competitive faction, she also hides a dangerous secret. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves... or it might destroy her.

Reviews   [Please sign in or join to leave a review]

The Divergent series is a gripping dystopian thriller, set in a society where everyone is divided by personality into one of five distinct factions: Abnegation (the selfless); Amity (the peaceful); Candor (the honest); Dauntless (the brave); and Erudite (the intelligent). Every faction has its strict functions in society and at sixteen years of age, each member must choose a faction for life, or risk becoming one of the outcasts of society, the 'Factionless'.

When Tris makes her faction choice, she realizes that personality traits don't always fit neatly into a single category, and that loyalties can be divided. What she discovers about herself is being played out in the society as a whole with rising urgency. Amidst violence, conflicting goals, shifting loyalties and developing romance, Tris and her companions try to discover the forces at work behind their imploding culture, and to find a way to restructure it. Tension-filled, thought-provoking books you'll find hard to put down, and a story that lingers after the last page.

Summary and books in the Divergent series

Tags: dystopian, action, mystery, romance,
Series reading level: 13+
Books in series: 9
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Divergent  (2011)
2Insurgent  (2012)
3Allegiant  (2013)
+ Free Four  (2012)
+ The Transfer  (2013)
+ The Initiate  (2014)
+ The Son  (2014)
+ The Traitor  (2014)
+ Four: A Divergent Collection  (2013)