The Alice-Miranda Series

by Jacqueline Harvey (Author)

Book Cover for the Alice-Miranda Series
Reading level: Ages 9 and up
Books in series: 19
Read in order: Yes
Tags: adventure  friendship  comedy & humour  first chapter books 

Alice-Miranda Highton-Smith-Kennington-Jones is a perpetually positive and determined seven-year-old, and she can't wait to start boarding school. When she arrives at Winchesterfield-Downsfordvale Academy for Proper Young Ladies, the adventure begins...only not quite as Alice-Miranda expects. There's a mystery to be solved: Miss Grimm, the headmistress, is nowhere to be seen, the gardens have no flowers, and a mysterious stranger seems to be lurking on the premises.

But that's not all. Eternally effervescent Alice-Miranda has to contest with some mean and spoiled girls, namely Alethea Goldsworthy. Can Alice-Miranda defeat Alethea in one of three difficult tests she must pass to remain at school? Will she discover Winchesterfield-Downsfordvale's big secret - and make things right? Well, if anyone can, it's spunky Alice-Miranda!