by Cornelia Funke (Author) Anthea Bell (Translator )

Book Cover for Inkheart

   Book 1   
Pages: 534
Meggie loves books. So does her father, Mo, who works as a restorer and binder of books, although he has never read aloud to her since her mother mysteriously disappeared when Meggie was still a small child. They live quietly together until the night a stranger knocks at their door. He has come with a warning that forces Mo to reveal an extraordinary secret - a storytelling secret - that will change their lives for ever...

Mo must be honest with his daughter about his unique and magical talent: he can read characters from storybooks to life! Unfortunately, these characters are not always good and kind, and one character in particular has no interest in letting Meggie and her father live 'happily ever after.' Together Meggie and Mo must learn to harness the magic that conjured this nightmare. Somehow they must change the course of the story which threatens to ruin their peaceful existence.

Recognition: Phantastik-Preis der Stadt Wetzlar for Children's Fiction, Germany (2004); Jury der jungen Leser prize for Children's Novel of the Year (2004); Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Nominee for Children's Literature (2004); ALA Teens' Top Ten (2004); Flicker Tale Children's Book Award (2006); Zilveren Griffel (2006); National Education Association "Teachers' Top 100 Books for Children" List (2007); Nene Award (2009)

Inkheart Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Inkheart
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  magic  adventure  fairy tales 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Inkheart  (2003)
2.   Inkspell  (2005)
3.   Inkdeath  (2007)