Darkness, Be My Friend

by John Marsden (Author)

Book Cover for Darkness, Be My Friend

   Book 4   
Pages: 272
Many months into World War III, Ellie and her four remaining friends have barely escaped the rural Australian town of Wirrawee with their lives and their sanity intact. But as the next step becomes clear, they realise they must once again sacrifice their hard-won comfort and safety. A group of soldiers has recruited the teens to guide the way to the Wirrawee air base. What could possibly motivate Ellie and her friends to return? This risky sabotage mission may be their only hope of rescuing the families and friends they left behind.

Recognition: Children's Book Council Award Older Readers Notable Book (1996); West Australian Young Readers' Books Award (WAYRBA) (1998); COOL Awards (Canberra's Own Outstanding List) (1999); Buxtehude Bull Prize (1999)

Tomorrow Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Tomorrow
Reading level: 13+
Books in series: 7
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: action  adventure  post-apocalyptic  war 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tomorrow, When the War Began  (1993)
2.   The Dead of the Night  (1994)
3.   The Third Day, The Frost  (1995)
4.   Darkness, Be My Friend  (1996)
5.   Burning for Revenge  (1997)
6.   The Night is for Hunting  (1998)
7.   The Other Side of Dawn  (1999)