Tomorrow, When the War Began

by John Marsden (Author)

Book Cover for Tomorrow, When the War Began

   Book 1   
Pages: 277
When Ellie and her friends return from a camping trip in the Australian bush, they find something is hideously wrong - their families are gone, their homes and pets have been left abandoned. Gradually the teenagers begin to comprehend that their country has been invaded and everyone in their rural town has been taken prisoner. As the reality of the situation hits them, they must make a tough decision - run and hide, give themselves up to be with their families, or fight back against an unknown enemy.

Recognition: Australian Multicultural Children's Book Award (1994); Kids Own Australian Literature Awards (KOALA)(1995); West Australian Young Readers' Book Award (WAYRBA) for Older Readers (1995); Young Australian Best Book Award (YABBA)(1995); American Library Association list of Best Books for Young Adults (1996); Fanfare Horn Book Best Book (1996); Canberra's Own Outstanding List (COOL) Awards for Older Reader's Fiction (1996); Books I Loved Best Yearly (BILBY) Award for Older Readers (1998); Children's Yearly Best-Ever Reads (CYBER) Best Book for Older Readers (2000-2002); Whitcoulls top 100 books (2008)

Tomorrow Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Tomorrow
Reading level: 13+
Books in series: 7
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: action  adventure  post-apocalyptic  war 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tomorrow, When the War Began  (1993)
2.   The Dead of the Night  (1994)
3.   The Third Day, The Frost  (1995)
4.   Darkness, Be My Friend  (1996)
5.   Burning for Revenge  (1997)
6.   The Night is for Hunting  (1998)
7.   The Other Side of Dawn  (1999)