by Christopher Paolini (Author)

Book Cover for Inheritance

   Book 4   
Pages: 860

Not so very long ago, Eragon - Shadeslayer and Dragon Rider - was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders.

Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must confront Galbatorix. When they do, they will have to be strong enough to defeat him. And if they cannot, no one can. There will be no second chances.

The Rider and his dragon have come further than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaesia? And if so, at what cost?

Inheritance Cycle Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Inheritance Cycle
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  dragon  magic  myth & legend  epic fantasy 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Eragon  (2002)
2.   Eldest  (2005)
3.   Brisingr  (2008)
4.   Inheritance  (2011)
+   Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia  (2009)