by Christopher Paolini (Author)

Book Cover for Eldest

   Book 2   
Pages: 679

Darkness falls...Despair abounds...Evil reigns...

Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix, cruel ruler of the Empire. Now Eragon must travel to Ellesmera, land of the elves, for further training in magic and swordsmanship, the vital skills of the Dragon Rider.

It is the journey of a lifetime, filled with awe-inspiring new places and people, each day a fresh adventure. But chaos and betrayal plague him at every turn, and Eragon isn't sure whom he can trust. Meanwhile, his cousin Roran must fight a new battle back home in Carvahall - one that puts Eragon in even graver danger. Will the king's dark hand strangle all resistance? Eragon may not escape with his life...

Recognition: Soaring Eagle Book Award (2006); ALA Teens' Top Ten (2006); West Australian Young Readers' Book Award (WAYRBA) for Older Readers (2006); Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award (2007); Teen Buckeye Book Award (2007)

Inheritance Cycle Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Inheritance Cycle
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Website: www.alagaesia.com
Tags: fantasy  adventure  dragon  magic  myth & legend  epic fantasy 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Eragon  (2002)
2.   Eldest  (2005)
3.   Brisingr  (2008)
4.   Inheritance  (2011)
+   Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia  (2009)