by Christopher Paolini (Author)

Book Cover for Eragon

   Book 1   
Pages: 503

When young Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his adopted family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself. Overnight his simple life is shattered, and he is thrust into a perilous new world of inescapable destiny, magical forces, and powerful people. With only an ancient sword and the instruction of an old,mysterious, hermit storyteller for guidance, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a Emperor whose evil and power knows no bounds. Can Eragon take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders? The fate of the Empire may rest in his hands...

Recognition: Book Sense Book of the Year Award for Children's Literature (2004); Pennsylvania Young Readers' Choice Award for Grades 6-8 (2004); ALA Teens' Top Ten (2004); Soaring Eagle Book Award (2005); Beehive Award for Young Adult Book (2005); South Carolina Book Award for Young Adult Book (2006); Nene Award (2006); Sequoyah Book Award for Young Adult (2006); Evergreen Young Adult Book Award (2006), Golden Archer Award for Middle/Junior High (2006); Pacific Northwest Library Association Young Reader's Choice Award for Intermediate (2006); Books I Loved Best Yearly (BILBY) Awards for Older Readers (2007)

Inheritance Cycle Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Inheritance Cycle
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  dragon  magic  myth & legend  epic fantasy 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Eragon  (2002)
2.   Eldest  (2005)
3.   Brisingr  (2008)
4.   Inheritance  (2011)
+   Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia  (2009)