Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

by Roald Dahl (Author) Quentin Blake (Illustrator)

Book Cover for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

   Book 1   
Pages: 162
Mr Wonka's inventions are out of this world. He's thought up every kind of sweet imaginable in his amazing chocolate factory, but no one has ever seen inside, or met Mr Wonka.

Just like every other kid in the world, chocolate-lover Charlie Bucket has been searching for his very own Golden Ticket into Willy Wonka's factory, but Charlie comes from a very poor family and chocolate is a treat reserved for birthdays and other special occasions. As tickets begin turning up around the world, Charlie realises his chances of finding one are dwindling. But then he finds a dollar on the street and decides to try his luck just one last time...

Recognition: Books I Loved Best Yearly (BILBY) Awards for Best Read-Aloud Children's Novel(1992); North Dakota Children's Choice Award (1985)

Charlie Bucket Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Charlie Bucket
Reading level: 8+
Books in series: 2
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  fantasy  comedy & humour  illustrated  family 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Charlie and the Chocolate Factory  (1964)
2.   Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator  (1972)