The Lightning Thief

by Rick Riordan (Author)

Book Cover for The Lightning Thief

   Book 1   
Pages: 384
Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. And that's the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he's angered a few of them. Zeus' master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus' stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves...

Recognition: American Library Assocation (ALA) Notable Book (2005), A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year (2005), New York Times Notable Book (2005), Rebecca Caudill Young Reader's Book Award (2009), Askews Torchlight Award (UK) Winner South Carolina Book Award for Junior Book Award (2008), Grand Canyon Reader Award for Tween Book (2008), Nene Award (2008), Massachusetts Children's Book Award (2008), Sunshine State Young Readers Award for Grades 6-8 (2007), Pacific Northwest Library Association Young Reader's Choice Award for Intermediate (2008), School Library Journal Best Book of (2005), Iowa Teen Award (2009), American Library Association Notable Book Award, Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2009), Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books List, and Young Reader's Choice Award in (2008)

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Percy Jackson and the Olympians
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 8
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  myth & legend  action  adventure 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Lightning Thief  (2005)
2.   The Sea of Monsters  (2006)
3.   The Titan's Curse  (2007)
4.   The Battle of the Labyrinth  (2008)
5.   The Last Olympian  (2009)
+   The Demigod Files  (2009)
+   Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Ultimate Guide  (2008)
+   Percy Jackson and the Sword of Hades + Horrible Histories: Groovy Greeks  (2009)