The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins (Author)

Book Cover for The Hunger Games

   Book 1   
Pages: 384

Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, 'The Hunger Games'. The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed. When her sister is chosen by lottery, Katniss steps up to go in her place.

Recognition: Publishers Weekly's 'Best Books of the Year' (2008); The New York Times 'Notable Children's Book' (2008); Winner of the Golden Duck Award in the Young Adult Fiction Category (2009); 'Cybil Winner' (2008) for fantasy and science-fiction books (along with The Graveyard Book); School Library Journal's 'Best Books 2008'; 'Booklist Editors' Choice' (2008); 'California Young Reader Medal' (2011).

Hunger Games Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Hunger Games
Reading level: 13+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: dystopian  science fiction  action  romance  war 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Hunger Games  (2008)
2.   Catching Fire  (2009)
3.   Mockingjay  (2010)