The Red Sun

by Alane Adams (Author)

Book Cover for The Red Sun

   Book 1   
Pages: 346

Sam Baron is about to get the shock of his life. First his substitute English teacher claims to have turned his old teacher into a lizard; then a strange dwarf named Rego arrives and claims Sam is from a magical realm called Orkney. When his friends are taken prisoner, it’s up to Sam to save them.

Sam embarks on a journey to Orkney through a stonefire to find his friends—but when he arrives, he discovers that an ancient curse has turned the sun a poisonous red and threatens to destroy the land. With only a young witch girl to guide him, Sam must choose: save his friends, or stop the red sun from consuming the land?

Drawing on Norse mythology, The Red Sun follows Sam’s journey to uncover the truth about his past—a journey during which he has to overcome the simmering anger inside of him, learn to channel his growing magical powers, and find a way to forgive the father who left him behind.

Recognition: Moonbeam Children's Book Awards Gold Medal: Best Book Series - Chapter Book (2017), Beverly Hills Book Award Winner: Best Juvenile Fiction, USA Book Awards: Best Children's Fiction (2015), IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards Silver Medal: Best New Voice Children's/Young Adult, Readers Favorite Awards Children Preteen: Silver Medal Winner, Royal Dragonfly Book Award (2014)

Legends of Orkney Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Legends of Orkney
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Tags: fantasy  adventure  myth & legend  magic  friendship  action 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Red Sun  (2014)
2.   Kalifus Rising  (2016)
3.   The Raven God  (2017)