The Enigma Game

by Elizabeth Wein (Author)

Book Cover for The Enigma Game

   Book 2   
Pages: 320

An exhilarating, unmissable thriller that finds three very different young adults united to decode a secret that could turn the tide of World War II.

Facing a seemingly endless war, fifteen-year-old Louisa Adair wants to fight back, make a difference, do something--anything to escape the Blitz and the ghosts of her parents, who were killed by enemy action. But when she accepts a position caring for an elderly German woman in the small village of Windyedge, Scotland, it hardly seems like a meaningful contribution. 
Still, the war feels closer than ever in Windyedge, where Ellen McEwen, a volunteer driver with the Royal Air Force, and Jamie Beaufort-Stuart, a flight leader for the 648 Squadron, are facing a barrage of unbreakable code and enemy attacks they can't anticipate. Their paths converge when a German pilot lands in Windyedge under mysterious circumstances and plants a key that leads Louisa to an unparalleled discovery: an Enigma machine that translates German code. 
Louisa, Ellen, and Jamie must work together to unravel a puzzle that could turn the tide of the war--but doing so will put them directly in the cross-hairs of the enemy. 
Featuring beloved characters from Code Name Verity and The Pearl Thief, as well as a remarkable new voice, this brilliant, breathlessly plotted novel by award-winning author Elizabeth Wein is a must-read.

Code Name Verity Cycle Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Code Name Verity Cycle
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? No
Tags: historical  war  action  spy  suspense  friendship 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Pearl Thief  (2017)
2.   The Enigma Game  (2020)
3.   Code Name Verity  (2012)
4.   Rose Under Fire  (2013)