by Jay Kristoff (Author)

Book Cover for Kinslayer

   Book 2   
Pages: 618

A shattered empire... The mad Shōgun Yoritomo has been assassinated by the Stormdancer Yukiko, and the threat of civil war looms over the Shima Imperium. The Lotus Guild conspires to renew the nation's broken dynasty and crush the growing rebellion simultaneously – by endorsing a new Shōgun who desires nothing more than to see Yukiko dead.

A dark legacy... Yukiko and the mighty thunder tiger Buruu have been cast in the role of heroes by the Kagé rebellion. But Yukiko herself is blinded by rage over her father’s death, and her ability to hear the thoughts of beasts is swelling beyond her power to control. Along with Buruu, Yukiko’s anchor is Kin, the rebel Guildsman who helped her escape from Yoritomo's clutches. But Kin has his own secrets, and is haunted by visions of a future he’d rather die than see realised.

A gatherine storm... Kagé assassins lurk within the Shōgun's palace, plotting to end the new dynasty before it begins. A waif from Kigen's gutters begins a friendship that could undo the entire empire. A new enemy gathers its strength, readying to push the fracturing Shima imperium into a war it cannot hope to survive. And across raging oceans, amongst islands of black glass, Yukiko and Buruu will face foes no katana or talon can defeat – the ghosts of a blood-stained past.

Recognition: Bookworm Best Award Nominee (2013)

Lotus Wars Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Lotus Wars
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  steampunk  dystopian  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Stormdancer  (2012)
2.   Kinslayer  (2013)
3.   Endsinger  (2013)
+   The Last Stormdancer  (2014)