by Jay Kristoff (Author)

Book Cover for Stormdancer

   Book 1   
Pages: 452

Stormdancer is the first in the epic new fantasy series The Lotus War, introducing an unforgettable heroine and a stunningly original dystopian steampunk world with a flavor of feudal Japan.

The Shima Imperium verges on the brink of environmental collapse; an island nation once rich in tradition and myth, now decimated by clockwork industrialisation and the machine-worshipers of the Lotus Guild. When hunters of Shima's imperial court are charged by their Shōgun to capture a legendary griffin, they fear their lives are over. Any fool knows the beasts have been extinct for more than a century, and the price of failing the Shōgun is death. Accompanying her father on the Shōgun's hunt, the girl Yukiko finds herself stranded: a young woman alone in Shima's last wilderness, with only a furious, crippled griffin for company. Even though she can hear his thoughts, even though she saved his life, all she knows for certain is he'd rather see her dead than help her. But together, the pair will form an indomitable friendship, and rise to challenge the might of an empire.

Recognition: David Gemmell Legend Award Nominee (2012); Compton Crook Award Nominee (2012); Aurealis Award Nominee (2012); Bookworm Best Award Nominee (2012)

Lotus Wars Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Lotus Wars
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  steampunk  dystopian  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Stormdancer  (2012)
2.   Kinslayer  (2013)
3.   Endsinger  (2013)
+   The Last Stormdancer  (2014)