Parvana's Promise (My Name is Parvana)

by Deborah Ellis (Author)

Book Cover for Parvana's Promise (My Name is Parvana)

   Book 3   
Pages: 200

On a military base in post-Taliban Afghanistan, American authorities have just imprisoned a teenaged girl found in a bombed-out school. The army major thinks she may be a terrorist working with the Taliban. The girl does not respond to questions in any language and remains silent, even when she is threatened, harassed and mistreated over several days. The only clue to her identity is a tattered shoulder bag containing papers that refer to people named Shauzia, Nooria, Leila, Asif, Hassan — and Parvana.

In this third and final book of the trilogy, Parvana is now fifteen years old. As she waits for foreign military forces to determine her fate, she remembers the past four years of her life. Reunited with her mother and sisters, she has been living in a village where her mother has finally managed to open a school for girls. But even though the Taliban has been driven from the government, the country is still at war, and many continue to view the education and freedom of girls and women with suspicion and fear.

As her family settles into the routine of running the school, Parvana, a bit to her surprise, finds herself restless and bored. She even thinks of running away. But when local men threaten the school and her family, she must draw on every ounce of bravery and resilience she possesses to survive the disaster that kills her mother, destroys the school, and puts her own life in jeopardy.

Please Note: This book is also published under the title My Name is Parvana.

Recognition: Ontario Library Association Red Maple Award Nominee for Fiction (2014)

Parvana (Breadwinner) Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Parvana (Breadwinner)
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: realistic fiction  culture  war  religion  family 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Parvana (The Breadwinner)  (2000)
2.   Parvana's Journey  (2002)
3.   Parvana's Promise (My Name is Parvana)  (2012)
+   Shauzia (Mud City)  (2003)