Parvana (The Breadwinner)

by Deborah Ellis (Author)

Book Cover for Parvana (The Breadwinner)

   Book 1   
Pages: 170

Eleven-year-old Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan's capital city. Parvana's father — a history teacher until his school was bombed and his health destroyed — works from a blanket on the ground in the marketplace, reading letters for people who cannot read or write. One day, he is arrested for the crime of having a foreign education, and the family is left without someone who can earn money or even shop for food.

As conditions for the family grow desperate, only one solution emerges. Forbidden to earn money as a girl, Parvana must transform herself into a boy, and become the breadwinner.

This is a novel about loyalty, survival, families and friendship under extraordinary circumstances. A map, glossary and author's note provide young readers with background and context.

Please Note: This book is also published under the title The Breadwinner.

Recognition: Rebecca Caudill Young Reader's Book Award Nominee (2004); BILBY Awards Older Readers Category shortlist (2006)

Parvana (Breadwinner) Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Parvana (Breadwinner)
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: realistic fiction  culture  war  religion  family 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Parvana (The Breadwinner)  (2000)
2.   Parvana's Journey  (2002)
3.   Parvana's Promise (My Name is Parvana)  (2012)
+   Shauzia (Mud City)  (2003)