The River

by Gary Paulsen (Author)

Book Cover for The River

   Book 2   
Pages: 160

"We want you to do it again."

These words, spoken to Brian Robeson, will change his life. Two years earlier, Brian was stranded alone in the wilderness for fifty-four days with nothing but a small hatchet. Yet he survived. Now the government wants him to do it again to go back into the wilderness so that astronauts and the military can learn the survival techniques that kept Brian alive.

This time he won't be alone: Derek Holtzer, a government psychologist, will accompany him to observe and take notes. But during a freak storm, Derek is hit by lightning and falls into a coma. Their radio transmitter is dead. Brian is afraid that Derek will die of dehydration unless he can get him to a doctor. His only hope is to build a raft and try to transport Derek a hundred miles down the river to a trading post if the map he has is accurate.

Recognition: Flicker Tale Children's Book Award (1995)

Brian's Saga Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Brian's Saga
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 6
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  nature  realistic fiction  boys  action 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Hatchet  (1987)
2.   The River  (1991)
3.   Brian's Winter  (1996)
4.   Brian's Return  (1999)
5.   Brian's Hunt  (2003)
+   Guts: The True Stories behind Hatchet and the Brian Books  (2001)