by Gary Paulsen (Author)

Book Cover for Hatchet

   Book 1   
Pages: 186

Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is on his way to visit his father when the single-engine plane in which he is flying crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but a tattered Windbreaker and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present -- and the dreadful secret that has been tearing him apart since his parent's divorce. But now Brian has no time for anger, self pity, or despair -- it will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed, to survive.

For twenty years Gary Paulsen's award-winning contemporary classic has been the survival story with which all others are compared.

Recognition: Newbery Honor (1988); Minnesota Book Award (1988); Golden Archer Award (1989); Virginia Readers' Choice Award for Middle Grade Readers (1989); Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award (1989); Rebecca Caudill Young Reader's Book Award Nominee (1990); Flicker Tale Children's Book Award (1990); William Allen White Award (1990); Iowa Teen Award (1990); Sequoyah Book Award for Young Adult (1990); Young Hoosier Book Award for 6-8 (1991); Buckeye Children's Book Award for 6-8 (1991); Massachusetts Children's Book Award (1995); Soaring Eagle Book Award (1997)

Brian's Saga Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Brian's Saga
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 6
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: adventure  nature  realistic fiction  boys  action 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Hatchet  (1987)
2.   The River  (1991)
3.   Brian's Winter  (1996)
4.   Brian's Return  (1999)
5.   Brian's Hunt  (2003)
+   Guts: The True Stories behind Hatchet and the Brian Books  (2001)