Horrible Harriet

by Leigh Hobbs (Author)

Book Cover for Horrible Harriet

   Book 1   
Pages: 32

Horrible Harriet lives in a nest on the roof of her school, and keeps teachers chained in the cellar to do her homework. The other children think she's a monster, as she teases and tricks them when their near blind teacher, Mr Boggles, isn't looking. He thinks Harriet's a good girl. But there is a surprise in store when Athol Egghead arrives in a hot air balloon. In fact, Harriet is like the school freak-friendless. The Horrible Harriet books are about her search for friendship. Leigh Hobbs writes: 'This book is about appearances and friendships and people not being what they seem. That is, appearances can be deceptive, and friendship can triumph. Horrible Harriet is an amalgam of various bad girls I have taught in schools.'

Recognition: Shortlisted in the picture book category, Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards (2002), Top Ten Books 2004: listed in the Kids Own Australian Literature Awards (KOALA). Shortlisted 2004: YABBA Children's Choice Book Awards in the Picture Book category. Shortlisted for the REAL Children's Choice Book Awards 2003

Horrible Harriet Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Horrible Harriet
Reading level: 5+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: illustrated  friendship  comedy & humour  adventure  school 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Horrible Harriet  (2001)
2.   Hooray for Horrible Harriet  (2005)
3.   Horrible Harriet's Inheritance  (2012)