The Sunbird

by Elizabeth Wein (Author)

Book Cover for The Sunbird

   Book 3   
Pages: 208

Eleven-year-old Telemakos is the grandson of two royal men: one African, from the kingdom of Aksum; the other Artos, the fallen High King of Britain. He is also a remarkable listener and tracker. Now his country needs his skill. Even though there is a quarantine, plague is spreading through Aksum, leaving disease and death in its wake.

Telemakos is recruited as the emperor's spy. He must travel through the brutal desert to the salt mines of Afar; there, he needs to discover who has been traitor to the crown. This challenge will take all of Telemakos's skill and strength and his ability to stay silent —for if he is discovered, there will be no mercy.

Please note: The first three books in the Lion Hunters series make up a subseries known as the Arthurian or Aksumite Cycle.

Lion Hunters Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Lion Hunters
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  historical  myth & legend  medieval  adventure  royalty 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Winter Prince  (1993)
2.   A Coalition of Lions  (2003)
3.   The Sunbird  (2004)
4.   The Lion Hunter  (2007)
5.   The Empty Kingdom  (2008)