The Door in the Hedge

by Robin McKinley (Author)

Book Cover for The Door in the Hedge

Companion book
Pages: 224

Master storyteller Robin McKinley here spins two new fairy tales and retells two cherished classics. All feature princesses touched with or by magic.

We meet Linadel, who lives in a kingdom next to Faerieland, where princesses are stolen away on their seventeenth birthdays—and Linadel's seventeenth birthday is tomorrow. And Korah, whose brother is bewitched by the magical Golden Hind; now it is up to her to break the spell. Rana must turn to a talking frog to help save her kingdom from the evil Aliyander. And then there are the twelve princesses, enchanted to dance through the soles of their shoes every night. . . These are tales to read with delight!

Folktales Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Folktales
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: fairy tales  romance  royalty  fantasy  magic  nature 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Beauty  (1978)
2.   Rose Daughter  (1997)
3.   Spindle's End  (2000)
+   The Door in the Hedge  (1981)