Rose Daughter

by Robin McKinley (Author)

Book Cover for Rose Daughter

   Book 2   
Pages: 304

When their father's business fails, three sisters move to a tiny neglected cottage far away from anything they have ever known. Beauty tends the awkward, thorny plants that surround it, and when they bloom the following summer an old woman tells her:

"Roses are for love. Not silly sweethearts' love but the love that makes you and keeps you whole. . . there aren't many roses around any more because they need more love than people have to give them to make them flower."

And when Beauty takes her father's place at the terrifying Beast's palace she discovers that the Beast's beloved rose garden is dying. . .

Recognition: Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Nominee for Children's Literature (1998)

Folktales Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Folktales
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: fairy tales  romance  royalty  fantasy  magic  nature 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Beauty  (1978)
2.   Rose Daughter  (1997)
3.   Spindle's End  (2000)
+   The Door in the Hedge  (1981)