The Witch of Clatteringshaws

by Joan Aiken (Author)

Book Cover for The Witch of Clatteringshaws

   Book 11   
Pages: 144

The Witch of Clatteringshaws lives in Scotland in a disused Ladies Convenience – not at all convenient, the plumbing having long been smashed. In London, Simon Battersea, unhappily settled on the throne of England, is forced to live in St James' Palace with his good friend, Dido Twite.

Dido, travelling north to investigate a false claimant to the throne, is confronted by abandoned children, monsters and murderers, while Simon has to defend his country against invading Wends. Their instinct to go north is a good one for it is the witch, Malise, who provides the key to everyone's troubles in a wonderfully swift and extravagant climax to this enthralling fantasy series.

Wolves Chronicles Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Wolves Chronicles
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 12
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  historical  animal  myth & legend  steampunk 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Wolves of Willoughby Chase  (1962)
2.   Black Hearts in Battersea  (1964)
3.   Nightbirds on Nantucket  (1966)
4.   The Stolen Lake  (1981)
5.   Limbo Lodge  (1999)
6.   The Cuckoo Tree  (1971)
7.   Dido and Pa  (1986)
8.   Is Underground  (1992)
9.   Cold Shoulder Road  (1995)
10.   Midwinter Nightingale  (2003)
11.   The Witch of Clatteringshaws  (2005)
+   The Whispering Mountain  (1968)