Colin Dann

Photo of Colin Dann
Colin Dann (born 1943 in Richmond, England) is a popular children's author, best known for The Animals of Farthing Wood series of books, which was subsequently made into an animated television series.

After leaving school he worked first for a large textile company before his real love – the world of books – brought him to a job in publishing. Dann worked at the publishing firm William Collins Sons & Co. for thirteen years, and his first novel, The Animals of Farthing Wood, was written during this period. The popularity of the first Farthing Wood book spawned a series of sequels and one prequel, also written by Dann. These books are characterised by a subtle concern for environmental themes and animal welfare issues.

Colin Dann, recipient of Britain's Arts Council National Award for Children's Literature, has also written and published twelve other books, including the series King of the Vagabonds and The Lions of Lingmere. Colin still writes and now lives with his wife in a converted Oast house on the Kent/Sussex border.

Nationality: British

Featured series by Colin Dann

Animals of Farthing Wood - Age 8 & up