by Catherine Fisher (Author)

Book Cover for Incarceron

   Book 1   
Pages: 464

Incarceron—a futuristic prison, sealed from view, where the descendants of the original prisoners live in a dark world torn by rivalry and savagery. It is a terrifying mix of high technology—a living building which pervades the novel as an ever-watchful, ever-vengeful character, and a typical medieval torture chamber—chains, great halls, dungeons.

A young prisoner, Finn, has haunting visions of an earlier life, and cannot believe he was born here and has always been here. In the outer world, Claudia, daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, is trapped in her own form of prison—a futuristic world constructed beautifully to look like a past era, an imminent marriage she dreads. She knows nothing of Incarceron, except that it exists.

But there comes a moment when Finn, inside Incarceron, and Claudia, outside, simultaneously find a device—a crystal key, through which they can talk to each other. And so the plan for Finn's escape is born...

Recognition: Cybils Award Nominee for Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction (2007); Publishers Weekly's Best Children's Books of the Year for Fiction (2010); School Library Journal Best Book of the Year (2010); Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Nominee for Children’s Literature (2011); Booklist Top Ten Science Fiction/Fantasy Novels for Youth (2010); YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults (2011)

Incarceron Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Incarceron
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 2
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: dystopian  mystery  fantasy  science fiction 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Incarceron  (2007)
2.   Sapphique  (2008)