The Anne of Green Gables Series

by Lucy Maud Montgomery (Author)

Book Cover for the Anne of Green Gables Series
5.00 5.00 (1 reviews)
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 12
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: historical  romance  family  classic  friendship  adventure  realistic fiction 

When eleven-year-old orphan girl Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables on Prince Edward Island, with nothing but a carpetbag and an overactive imagination, she knows that she has found her ideal home. But first she must convince the Cuthberts to let her stay, even though she isn’t the boy they had hoped for. The loquacious Anne quickly finds her way into their hearts, as she has with generations of readers, and her charming adventures in Avonlea, filled with colorful characters and tender escapades, linger forever in our memories.

Anne of Green Gables Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Anne of Green Gables  (1908)
2. Anne of Avonlea  (1909)
3. Anne of the Island  (1915)
4. Anne of Windy Poplars  (1936)
5. Anne's House of Dreams  (1917)
6. Anne of Ingleside  (1939)
7. Rainbow Valley  (1919)
8. Rilla of Ingleside  (1921)
9. The Blythes Are Quoted  (2009)
+ Chronicles of Avonlea  (1912)
+ Further Chronicles of Avonlea  (1920)
+ Before Green Gables  (2008)

mary penco5

This is a timeless classic that appeals to both children and adults. Montgomery has created an endearing character in the somewhat comical but feisty heroine, 'Anne Girl'. Her constant 'scrapes' and wild imagination will keep you laughing throughout the book and when you reach the last page you may even find yourself shedding a tear that such a delightful story has come to an end.