The Little House Series

by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Author)

Book Cover for the Little House Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 9
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: classic  historical  culture  family  adventure  nature 

Laura Ingalls and her family live deep in the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Their log cabin is surrounded by miles of trees, and their closest neighbors are bears, wolves, and panthers. Daily chores keep Laura and her sister Mary busy, but they still find time to go exploring with their dog, Jack.

Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, since they must grow or catch all their own food as they get ready for the cold winter. But it is also exciting as Laura and her family celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night they are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa's fiddle sending Laura and her sisters off to sleep.

And so begins Laura Ingalls Wilder's beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family. The Little House books have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America's frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories. This series will appeal especially to fans of the Anne of Green Gables or Little Women series.

Little House Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Little House in the Big Woods  (1932)
2. Little House on the Prairie  (1935)
3. On the Banks of Plum Creek  (1937)
4. By the Shores of Silver Lake  (1939)
5. The Long Winter  (1940)
6. Little Town on the Prairie  (1941)
7. These Happy Golden Years  (1943)
8. The First Four Years  (1953)
+ Farmer Boy  (1933)