The Tales Dark and Grimm Series

by Adam Gidwitz (Author)

Book Cover for the Tales Dark and Grimm Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: No
Next book: Finished
Tags: fairy tales  magic  fantasy  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

Reader, beware!

Warlocks with dark spells, hunters with deadly aim, and bakers with ovens retro-fitted for baking children lurk within these pages.

But if you dare . . .

Follow Hansel and Gretel as they walk out of their own story and into the wilds—where magic, terror, and a little bit of humor shine like white pebbles lighting the way. It may be frightening, and it’s certainly bloody but, unlike those other fairy tales you know, these ones are true. Once upon a time, you see, fairy tales were awesome!

In this mischievous and utterly original series, Hansel and Gretel and a host of other curious fairy tale characters walk out of their own stories and into other classic Grimm–inspired tales. Fairy tales have never been more irreverent or subversive—the characters that populate these strange and wonderful stories are about to take charge of their destinies and become the clever architects of their own happily ever after.

Tales Dark and Grimm Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. A Tale Dark and Grimm  (2010)
2. In a Glass Grimmly  (2012)
3. The Grimm Conclusion  (2013)