Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Eagle of the Ninth Series

by Rosemary Sutcliff (Author)

Book Cover for the Eagle of the Ninth Series
The Ninth Legion marched into the mists of northern Britain – and they were never seen again. Four thousand men disappeared and their eagle standard was lost. It's a mystery that has never been solved, until now...

So begins the story of The Eagle of the Ninth, set in Roman Britain and featuring a young soldier, Marcus Aquila, who sets off into the unknown north to discover what happened to his father and the rest of the lost legion. Throughout the five volumes which make up this series, age-old themes of love, loss, revenge and honor are explored against a richly imagined backdrop of ancient Britain.

Series Summary

Series: Eagle of the Ninth
Tags: adventure historical action fantasy classics war
Series reading level: 11+
Books in series: 5
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Eagle of the Ninth  (1954)
2The Silver Branch  (1957)
3The Lantern Bearers  (1959)
4Dawn Wind  (1961)
5Frontier Wolf  (1980)