Multi-Genre Selection

Select 2 or 3 genre tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Magonia Series

by Maria Dahvana Headley (Author)

Book Cover for the Magonia Series
Maria Dahvana Headley's soaring YA debut series is a fiercely intelligent, multilayered fantasy where Neil Gaiman's Stardust meets John Green's The Fault in Our Stars in a story about a girl caught between two worlds, two races, and two destinies.

Aza Ray Boyle is drowning in thin air. Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak – to live. So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn't think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name...

The world of Magonia is rich with symbolism and steeped in allegory. Aza’s journey pulls her deep into the question of home, of love, of self, and of just what it means to find them all.

Series Summary

Series: Magonia
Tags: fantasy magic romance adventure illness & grief paranormal
Series reading level: 14+
Books in series: 2
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Magonia  (2015)
2Aerie  (2016)