Multi-Genre Selection

Select 2 or 3 genre tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Wandering Son Series

by Shimura Takako (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Wandering Son Series
The fifth grade. The threshold to puberty, and the beginning of the end of childhood innocence. Shuichi Nitori and his new friend Yoshino Takatsuki have happy homes, loving families, and are well-liked by their classmates. But they share a secret that further complicates a time of life that is awkward for anyone: Shuichi is a boy who wants to be a girl, and Yoshino is a girl who wants to be a boy.

Written and drawn by one of today's most critically acclaimed creators of manga, Shimura portrays Shuishi and Yoshino's very private journey with affection, gentle humor, and unmistakable flair and grace. This subtle story of gender and culture provides a sensitive introduction to LGBTQ concerns for young teen readers.

Recognition: MTV Geek's Best Manga Series List (2011)

Series Summary

Series: Wandering Son
Tags: graphic novel illustrated realistic fiction culture school friendship
Series reading level: 13+
Books in series: 8
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Wandering Son Volume 1  (2011)
2Wandering Son Volume 2  (2012)
3Wandering Son Volume 3  (2012)
4Wandering Son Volume 4  (2013)
5Wandering Son Volume 5  (2013)
6Wandering Son Volume 6  (2014)
7Wandering Son Volume 7  (2014)
8Wandering Son Volume 8  (2015)