Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Asterix Series

by Jean-Yves Ferri (Author) René Goscinny (Author) Didier Conrad (Illustrator) Albert Uderzo (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Asterix Series
Asterix (originally Astérix le gaulois) follows the exploits of a village of ancient Gauls as they resist Roman occupation. They do so by means of a magic potion, brewed by their druid, which gives the recipient superhuman strength. The protagonist, the titular character, Asterix, along with his friend Obelix are frequently engaged in hilarious and often action-packed adventures.

The Asterix series is one of the most popular comics in the world, with the series' 35 volumes having been translated into more than 100 languages. Fans of classic comic strips such as The Adventures of Tintin and Calvin and Hobbes will be delighted by the chaotic adventures of Asterix and his companion Obelix.

Series Summary

Series: Asterix
Tags: graphic novel classics adventure action historical culture
Series reading level: 8+
Books in series: 35
Should read in order? No
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Asterix the Gaul  (1961)
2Asterix and the Golden Sickle  (1962)
3Asterix and the Goths  (1963)
4Asterix the Gladiator   (1964)
5Asterix and the Banquet  (1965)
6Asterix and Cleopatra  (1965)
7Asterix and the Big Fight  (1966)
8Asterix in Britain  (1966)
9Asterix and the Normans  (1967)
10Asterix the Legionary  (1967)
11Asterix and the Chieftain's Shield   (1968)
12Asterix at the Olympic Games  (1968)
13Asterix and the Cauldron   (1969)
14Asterix in Spain  (1969)
15Asterix and the Roman Agent   (1970)
16Asterix in Switzerland  (1970)
17The Mansions of the Gods  (1971)
18Asterix and the Laurel Wreath   (1972)
19Asterix and the Soothsayer  (1972)
20Asterix in Corsica  (1973)
21Asterix and Caesar's Gift  (1974)
22Asterix and the Great Crossing  (1975)
23Obelix and Co  (1976)
24Asterix in Belgium   (1979)
25Asterix and the Great Divide  (1980)
26Asterix and the Black Gold  (1981)
27Asterix and Son   (1983)
28Asterix and the Magic Carpet  (1987)
29Asterix and the Secret Weapon  (1991)
30Asterix and Obelix All at Sea   (1996)
31Asterix and the Actress  (2001)
32Asterix and the Class Act   (2003)
33Asterix and the Falling Sky   (2005)
34Asterix and Obelix’s Birthday  (2009)
35Asterix and the Picts  (2013)