Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Ascendance Series

by Jennifer A. Nielsen (Author)

Book Cover for the Ascendance Series
An extraordinary historical series brimming with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will engross readers from start to finish.

Sage, an orphaned thief, is one of four boys chosen to participate in a lethal contest. After being plucked from the streets by a nobleman named Connor, Sage learns that Connor plans to choose one of the orphans to impersonate a long-lost prince in the hopes of averting a civil war.

As the boys are remade to enhance their resemblance to the long-lost Prince Jaron, they must compete to assume their new identities as well as the throne. But deceit and treachery face Sage at every turn, and he will learn that a dangerous truth can be more destructive than all of the royal court's lies combined.

Series Summary

Series: Ascendance
Tags: historical medieval mystery adventure fantasy
Series reading level: 10+
Books in series: 3
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The False Prince  (2012)
2The Runaway King  (2014)
3The Shadow Throne  (2014)