Multi-Genre Selection

Select 2 or 3 genre tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:


The Word Spy Series


by Ursula Dubosarsky (Author) Tohby Riddle (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Word Spy Series
Meet the Word Spy. She's dashing and daring and witty as can be – and no one knows more about the evolution of the English language than she does! Luckily, she's spilling her secrets in this gem of a book series. From the first alphabet in 4000 BC, to anagrams, palindromes, and modern-day text messages, readers will learn all about the fascinating twists and turns the English language has taken to become what it is today.

With playful black-and-white illustrations, riddles to solve, and codes to break, The Word Spy is definitive proof that words can spark the imagination and are anything but dull. This is a series for every aspiring writer and every true reader to savour. Readers who enjoy Nick Earls & Terry Whidborne's The Word Hunters trilogy will relish the linguistic adventures that the Word Spy has to offer.

Please Note: This series was published in the United States of America under the title The Word Snoop.

Series Summary


Series: Word Spy
Tags: non fiction historical culture illustrated humour word puzzle
Series reading level: 9+
Books in series: 3
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Website: www.wordsnoop.blogspot.com.au

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Word Spy  (2007)
2Return of the Word Spy  (2010)
+ The Word Spy Activity Book  (2012)