Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Abhorsen (Old Kingdom) Series

by Garth Nix (Author)

Book Cover for the Abhorsen (Old Kingdom) Series
Only the Abhorsen can keep the living safe from the dead...

In this compelling high fantasy series, a young heroine, Sabriel, must first do battle in the realm of Death itself to defeat a powerful enemy. Every step she takes brings her closer to a battle that will pit her against the true forces of life and death – and bring her face-to-face with her own destiny. Later it is Lirael, with only her faithful companion, the Disreputable Dog, who must undertake a desperate mission under the growing shadow of an ancient evil, which threatens the fate of the Old Kingdom. Lirael must search in both Life and Death for some means to defeat the evil Destroyer and find the missing Abhorsen Sabriel and the King Touchstone - before it is too late.

Series Summary

Series: Abhorsen (Old Kingdom)
Tags: fantasy action adventure magic
Series reading level: 13+
Books in series: 8
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Sabriel  (1995)
2Lirael  (2001)
3Abhorsen  (2003)
4Clariel  (2014)
5Goldenhand  (2016)
+ Across the Wall  (2005)
+ The Creature in the Case  (2005)
+ To Hold the Bridge  (2015)