Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

Son of the Whirlwind

by Elyne Mitchell (Author)

Book Cover for Son of the Whirlwind
[Sign in to review]
   Book 7   
Pages: 160
Published: 1979

Wirramirra, the silver foal, embarks on a long and hazardous search to find his father, the legendary silver brumby, Thowra. He travels with his mother Yuri and her mate, Kulali. They come across a hut in the mountains with captured wild horses in the yard and their curiosity gets the better of them but the man will not forget the silver brumby foal he has seen near the yard and will hunt for him across all the Snowy Mountains.

Other horses threaten the group as they travel onward in their search for Thowra and the man is always there, wanting to capture the free spirit that is Wirramirra

Series Summary

Series: Silver Brumby
Tags: animals horses & ponies nature fantasy adventure culture
Series reading level: 10+
Books in series: 12
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Silver Brumby  (1958)
2Silver Brumby's Daughter  (1960)
3Silver Brumbies of the South  (1965)
4Silver Brumby Kingdom  (1966)
5Moon Filly  (1968)
6Silver Brumby Whirlwind  (1973)
7Son of the Whirlwind  (1979)
8Silver Brumby, Silver Dingo  (1993)
9Dancing Brumby  (1995)
10Brumbies of the Night  (1996)
11Dancing Brumby's Rainbow  (1998)
12The Thousandth Brumby  (1999)