Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Silver Brumby

by Elyne Mitchell (Author)

Book Cover for The Silver Brumby
[Sign in to review]
   Book 1   
Pages: 192
Published: 1958

A silver brumpy is a most special horse, both to other horses and in the land of men. And it is men who will always seek to catch him, for his beauty.

Thowra, the magnificent silver stallion, longs to be King of the Brumbies like the mighty horse called The Brogla. But Thowra is young, and in order to defeat The Brolga he needs all his strength and cunning. So he bides his time, and listens, and learns. Soon he knows that even if he defeats The Brolga he must face and overcome something much worse: the danger from man . . .

Recognition: Children's Book Council of Australia Highly Commended Book (1958)

Series Summary

Series: Silver Brumby
Tags: animals horses & ponies nature fantasy adventure culture
Series reading level: 10+
Books in series: 12
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Silver Brumby  (1958)
2Silver Brumby's Daughter  (1960)
3Silver Brumbies of the South  (1965)
4Silver Brumby Kingdom  (1966)
5Moon Filly  (1968)
6Silver Brumby Whirlwind  (1973)
7Son of the Whirlwind  (1979)
8Silver Brumby, Silver Dingo  (1993)
9Dancing Brumby  (1995)
10Brumbies of the Night  (1996)
11Dancing Brumby's Rainbow  (1998)
12The Thousandth Brumby  (1999)