Multi-Genre Selection

Select 2 or 3 genre tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Girl of Fire and Thorns

by Rae Carson (Author)

Book Cover for The Girl of Fire and Thorns
[Sign in to review]
   Book 1   
Pages: 448
Published: 2011

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness. Elisa is the chosen one. But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can't see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he's not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people's savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young. Most of the chosen do.

Note: This book is also published under the title, 'Fire and Thorns'.

Recognition: American Library Association, William C. Morris YA Debut Award, 2012 Finalist

Series Summary

Series: Girl of Fire and Thorns
Tags: fantasy romance myth & legend mystery magic
Series reading level: 13+
Books in series: 6
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Girl of Fire and Thorns  (2011)
2The Crown of Embers  (2012)
3The Bitter Kingdom  (2013)
+ The Shattered Mountain  (2013)
+ The Shadow Cats  (2012)
+ The King's Guard  (2013)