Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

Hard Lessons

by Steven Farley (Author)

Book Cover for Hard Lessons
[Sign in to review]
   Book 6   
Pages: 144
Published: 1999

Danielle is eager to follow Raven, who is now an official yearling, to South Wind, where he will begin serious training as a racehorse. Danielle's best friend, Julie, already has an after-school job at the state-of-the-art facility, and Danielle tries - unsuccessfully - to hide her growing jealousy. Danielle is determined to land a job at South Wind, too, but when her grades start to slip, her mother swiftly puts an end to that idea. Danielle doubles her efforts at school, but just as she's finally catching up on her studies, Raven suffers a baffling injury. Will Raven's entire racing career be over before it even gets started?

Series Summary

Series: Young Black Stallion
Tags: horses & ponies adventure animals friendship girls
Series reading level: 8+
Books in series: 8
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Promise  (1998)
2A Horse Called Raven  (1998)
3The Homecoming  (1999)
4Wild Spirit  (1999)
5The Yearling  (1999)
6Hard Lessons  (1999)
7South Wind Spring  (2000)
8Storm  (2000)